PSL and its History


The Pakistan Super League (PSL abbreviation) is a must-know for any cricket lover, regardless of where they live. When other leagues were first organized, they have the intention to entertain the people and make money. The Pakistan Super League was also created for this purpose and to bring cricket back home.

It has been a success story for us, as Australia visited Pakistan right after the PSL. Also, many other teams have already traveled to Pakistan. The Pakistan Cricket Board and those who imagined the country’s most prominent cricket tournament deserve credit for everything. So, let’s look at the beginnings of this whole scenario.


This League  was more necessary in Pakistan than even the PCB. Six years ago, Pakistan ranked among the most dangerous places to visit due to the explosions and terrorist attacks carried out by Pakistan Tehreek-e-Taliban, Al-Qaeda, and Daesh. This situation affected the reputation of our beloved country.

Until 2009, the Pakistan Cricket Board could make and spend as much money as needed. After the attack on the Sri Lankan cricket team in Lahore, cricket stadiums filled with nation sat empty for several years. Between 2009 and 2015, the BCCI got fame worldwide due to the IPL. The world of cricket had already begun to feel its impact. PCB, however, felt helpless in this situation.

Launching the Pakistan Super League took four years after the Pakistan Premier League’s concept first emerged in 2012. That’s why PSL is used to make it stand out from other brands. At first, only five teams (Islamabad United, Peshawar Zalmi, Quetta Gladiators, Lahore Qalandars, and Karachi Kings) were in the first PSL auction. Then in the 3rd edition of the PSL, a new team (Multan Sultan) entered it. Now, let’s begin the rising story of PSL.

The Beginning of the First Edition of PSL

Firstly, PCB had to spend money on many things that had to be done. When this league  started, nobody knew what was going to happen. When the PSL started in 2016 (UAE), the Master’s Champions League was happening there. It all started under such difficult conditions that only the strongest could survive.

Secondly, it started in the United Arab Emirates because there were some dead pitches. However, the Pakistan Super League has become a successful league after its debut. Pakistani cricket fans were waiting for their loved sport to be played on home soil when this league  was launched. Because the main intention behind it was to bring cricket back home. But unfortunately, they didn’t get a single match on home ground.

The green team played an old style of cricket in 2016, as seen by their results in the WC 2015 and T20 WC 2016. Ultimately, there had to be an increase in gaps and divisions. But, in the earlier events, new and brilliant young players began receiving opportunities. As a result, Pakistan won the Champions Trophy 2017 after being led by impressive players like Fakhar Zaman, Shadab Khan, Hassan Ali, and Ruman Raees. They were all picked on their league performances.

Cricket Matches at Home Grounds

After the 2015 World Cup, Pakistan welcomed Zimbabwe to play matches on its home grounds. But, this is the only team that visits it in the following two years. The second league  season’s final game will be held at Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore, as was announced before the tournament’s start. The final and semi-final games were held in Pakistan in the second edition.

There were up to 8 Pakistan Super League matches played there in 2019. Before starting the 4th edition, West Indies and Sri Lanka had visited Pakistan. Because PCB acknowledged that foreign players had also begun to trust Pakistan. In this way, things returned to normal, and the complete league matches of the 5th edition were scheduled to be held where the league belonged.

The Pakistan Super League’s 5th edition was probably the best in its history. Because the entire tournament was scheduled to be held in Pakistan. But with the rise in COVID-19 cases and dramatic changes to the government’s policies, the remaining PSL matches were postponed.

In 2021 (6th edition), things were supposed to get better. But some potential cases were found after the first 16 matches and it became necessary to stop once more time from where it started. From the 7th edition, now all the PSL matches are held in Pakistan’s home ground. Now, let’s see the winners of each edition till now.

Winners in PSL History

A total of 8 seasons have happened in the this league  game until now. The PSL all-season winners are as follows:

1.   Islamabad United (PSL 2016)

Pakistan had to win their final five games to win the trophy in 1992. The same happened in 2016 for Islamabad United, who won the trophy. In short, Islamabad United won the This league  championship by defeating Peshawar Zalmi in the knockout round and Quetta Gladiators in the final.

2.   Peshawar Zalmi (PSL 2017)

The quality of PSL in the 7th edition got a strong position in all PSL editions due to thrilling games. Many foreign players also participated in this edition in different teams. But all other teams came up short against Peshawar Zalmi and won the PSL trophy.

3.   Islamabad United (PSL 2018)

Islamabad United selected Luke Ronchi in the draft, and his selection ended up winning the tournament. Peshawar Zalmi, the defending champions, lost the first five matches but won the following to compete against Islamabad United. Despite this, Islamabad defeated Peshawar Zalmi in the final game and became a two-time champion in PSL history.

4.   Quetta Gladiators (PSL 2019)

Shane Watson motivated Quetta Gladiators to win the championship title 2019 after they repeatedly came up short in earlier editions. In the points table, only Peshawar Zalmi and Quetta were in the same position. But, Quetta Gladiators managed their victory against Peshawar Zalmi by one run in the final. This way, Quetta Gladiators marked its name in the PSL winners list.

5.   Karachi Kings (PSL 2020)

The management of Karachi Kings was criticized for arranging the wrong team line-ups in the first four PSL editions. That changed in 2020 when Dean Jones, who had previously won two PSL trophies with Islamabad United, was appointed as head coach by Karachi Kings. In this memorable season, Lahore Qalandars qualified for the first time in the final. But in the end, Karachi Kings defeated Lahore Qalandars and lifted the trophy.

6.   Multan Sultans (PSL 2021)

There was just one victory and four losses in the first five games. But Multan changed its strategy. Multan won 6 of the following seven games, including a thrilling win over Islamabad United in the qualifying round and a crucial victory over Peshawar Zalmi in the PSL final. In this way, Multan Sultans put its name in the PSL champions list.

7.   Lahore Qalandars (PSL 2022)

Lahore Qalandars made a spot for the second time in the final of PSL 2022. Lahore Qalandars has never played playoff matches in the first four PSL seasons. But this time, Lahore Qalandars was the only team to defeat the defending championship “Multan Sultans” in the final of the 7th edition.

8.   Lahore Qalandars (PSL 2023)

The PSL 2023 season was exciting. The inaugural match of this season was started between Lahore Qalandars and Multan Sultans, and Lahore Qalandars won by one run. The same situation also occurred in the final between Lahore Qalandars and Multan Sultans. And Lahore Qalandars again defeated Multan Sultans in the final and won by one run. This way, Lahore Qalandars becomes the first team to lift two consecutive PSL trophies.

Related Posts

About the Author

Add a Comment

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top